top of page




Like many wineries in Spain, Bodegas Valdelacierva came into its own at the beginning of the era of the restauration of democracy in the 1980s.  The influx of foreign investment and opening of more export markets provided the capital to build a modern winery capable of making worldclass wines.  

The winery is situated in the town of Navarrete, where the vineyards benefit from the region's diverse microclimates and distinct soil types. This allows Bodegas Valdelacierva to cultivate a wide range of grape varieties, including Tempranillo, Garnacha, Mazuelo, and Graciano, which are the hallmark of Rioja wines.  The winery also has a commitment to the diversity of the terroirs in Rioja, cultivating vineyards in all of the subregions.  It also has the distinction of having one of the highest numbers of viñedos singulars of any winery in Rioja. These viñedos singulars, or single-vineyards are ones that have been recognized by the Rioja Consejo Regulador (regulating council) as producing wines of the highest quality.  

Bodegas Valdelacierva takes great pride in their commitment to sustainable viticulture. They employ environmentally friendly practices in the vineyards, such as organic fertilization, integrated pest management, and water conservation techniques. By prioritizing the health of the vineyards and the surrounding ecosystem, they ensure the production of grapes of the highest quality.

At the helm of the winemaking process since 2007, Emma Villajos – a pioneer among women winemakers - combines traditional methods with modern techniques to create wines that reflect both tradition and innovation. The grapes are carefully handpicked and sorted, ensuring only the best fruit is selected. Fermentation takes place in stainless steel tanks or oak barrels, depending on the desired style of the wine. The wines are then aged in French and American oak barrels, allowing them to develop complexity and elegance.

Bodegas Valdelacierva is not only dedicated to producing exceptional wines but also to promoting the cultural and gastronomic heritage of the Rioja region. They organize events and activities that celebrate the local cuisine, art, and traditions, providing visitors with a comprehensive experience that goes beyond wine tasting.






Spain’s  best known wine producing region. The Oja river (Rio Oja) is believed to have given the region its name. Rioja was the first region in Spain to be awarded the highest DOCa (Denominacion de Origen Calificada) category, due to its proven record in consistently producing top-quality wines. Rioja is divided into three SUBREGIONS: Rioja Baja, Rioja Alta and Rioja Alavesa. Rioja Baja's climate is warmer and the soils sandier, yielding more alcoholic wines with greater concentration. Rioja Alta has higher elevation and colder weather and is mostly located south of the Ebro river. Rioja Alavesa is the smallest subregion and is exclusively located north of the Ebro river in the provice of Alava (Basque Country).

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page